J. Gilbert’s Steakhouse In West County

Posted: June 9, 2014 in The County, What the hell?
Tags:

JG2I was calmly reading my email when i discovered that I had been invited to a media event regarding this particular restaurant in West County of all places.

After thinking about it thoroughly, I came to the conclusion that as I do love steak and I do love seafood…I realized I would be a fool to pass on this opportunity.

Thankfully, I’m pleased this was the route I took.

As long time readers will certainly realize, there is nothing about J. Gilberts in and of itself that would have drawn me in. Obviously, it’s not in St. Louis City. It’s a corporate chain. It’s also in a mall.

When I arrived, we given a brief tour of the establishment on our way to the section. I was very quickly struck by the decor. In my minds chains feel fake. They have memorabilia of local sports teams or high schools in them, but there was none of that here. There were also no attempts at making the restaurant seem western, like certain other big steak chains do.

The interior was wooden, a bit dark, and very comfortable. It’s not a very large establishment. A main dining room and a bar area. In the main dining room, there is a large fireplace that was even running in late May in St. Louis without warming up the room.

Blue cheese stuffed olives.

Blue cheese stuffed olives.

The bar area has a bar, obviously, and a row of tables along the wall that separates it from the main dining hall. The impression we had is that it was cozy and comfortable.

We had a nice talk with the general manager, Tripp, who came back to St. Louis to open this particular store. He’s been with the company for a very long time and was given the opportunity to return home, and he did just that.

The things I took away from him were that he has a lot of autonomy in his store and he feels that J. Gilberts has stayed small in order to facilitate responsible growth instead of all out corporate greed. It’s hard to argue either of those points.

We were treated to a four course tasting menu with paired wines. As I’m not much of a wine person, I did not even drink all of them, and I won’t be mentioning them…

Although really I should mention the reisling dessert wine we had with our cheesecake, but I’m not a wine person and I didn’t write down the name.

Sorry.

Ahi Tuna Tartare

Ahi Tuna Tartare

Our first course was an Ahi Tuna garnished with a sweet sauce and Siracha for a touch of heat. It was served along side of avocado. Now, this may come as a surprise, but this was the first time in my life I have ever enjoyed an avocado.

No, I do not like guacamole.

Our waitress cautioned our use of the Siracha sauce, as she felt it was very hot.

Of course I used every drop on my plate and more. The sweet and the spicy complimented this dish oh so very well.

After our first course began the courses I had been waiting for…

Our second course was Sea Scallops and Lobster Risotto.

Lobster risotto and sea scallops

Lobster risotto and sea scallops

There are few things in the culinary world that I love more than Lobster Risotto, but sadly scallops are not one of them, but that’s alright because my companion hates lobster.

I can say without hesitation that this dish was on par with Trattoria Marcella on Watson Rd. in St. Louis City. (If you’ve not had their Lobster Risotto, you really should fix that.)

I was doubly thankful that I even had more to myself.

Fillet

Fillet

The next course was the Fillet.

Now we are talking. This is a steakhouse and we are being given steak to eat. Again, my companion  hates steak too.

So again, I got even more than I should have and it was delightful.

This was another interesting situation. Our fillets came with potatoes au gratin, another dish that I have never enjoyed in my entire life.

Again, I enjoyed this dish thoroughly. I’m confused as to how they pulled off this witchcraft, not once, but twice.

Full on fillet, asparagus, and potatoes au gratin

Full on fillet, asparagus, and potatoes au gratin

For desert, we were served a piece of New York Style Cheesecake with strawberries.

How could that be anything other than great?

It was.

 

Leave a Reply

