Fish Frydays 2014 #3: St. Agatha’s Cathedral

Posted: March 25, 2014 in Fish Frydays, STL: Soulard
Image

They have a nice sign.

Once again our multi-generational clan is off for another few moments spent in each other’s company, in fellowship, and surrounded by fried fish which we pretend is healthy.

At least some of us do.

Again, we find ourselves hitting up a rerun fry, but considering how much we loved this one back in the day, it did not really strike me as a negative. For the past couple seasons, I had been talking about going back anyway.

As a beer fan, one of the things I’d really loved about this place was the selection of Polish beers they had.

We were intending to hit a new place this week, but due to some travel concerns and the patriarch of the family arriving late and without  his car, we chose to re-visit St. Agatha’s because my in-laws had not sampled their cuisine when our nuclear family went on our very first fish fry.

It was actually pretty fun walking into the basement cafe, where the fry is, with E-J and trying to tell her about the time when she first went to a fish fry, but she couldn’t eat any fish, the most shocking revelation she could’ve received, due to her being too young.

Image

In the back.

We went in, awkwardly, and got our fish. The price had gone up a bit in the past three years, but considering how spectacular their fish is, there’s no issue with that.

For the three of us, we ordered two plates which came with one piece of fish, an order of fries, pickles, rice with peppers, and cole slaw.

We’ve had an interesting run of side dishes so far this year. We have not really been able to choose our sides like we have in the past.

it is always interesting to see what sort of things that the fish frys put in as side dishes. This is the second week in a row where we’ve had rice and that’s very cool and a first…and a second.

Image

Fishy, fishy, fish.

The fish itself is pictured just above these words. Take a moment to drink it in its majesty.

And tell me why in the world they served me pickles. I ate them, but I still don’t know why.

The fries were precisely what they looked like. Decent boxed fries that they fried whilst handling the fish.

The rice was very, very good. It was a bit buttery and full of peppers. I couldn’t have been happier with those.

There were also desserts, but I didn’t have any of those. Coffee and tea were available as well, as their cafe doubles as a coffee bar during the rest of the week.

Now we’re going to talk about the parts that were confusing. We did arrive late, but there was no beer. There were no beers to be had.

I didn’t have any beer. Um.

After my excellent dinner, I enjoyed a cup of earl grey tea, well I tried to. See they had tea bags and cups and milk and sugar, but no hot water. They did have a container of tea that I put into my cup and drank that.

I think it was Breakfast tea? I’m not sure.

All in all though, we had some good food.

 

 

Comments
  1. Danielle says:

    Isn’t that so sad! We went last year, got a big group together, so excited to show off our “secret” fish fry in this Polish church basement with the cool Polish beer…. and none. I heard they got a new pastor that cut beer sales. Sad to see they still did not bring it back this year.

    • The 13 Blog says:

      I was very confused. I mean. I love beer. Catholics love beer. Beer and fish…it’s a winning combination!

      You know, I was really excited to try another one of their beers. It’s going to come off of my list of places to return to because of no beer.

Leave a Reply

