Fish Frydays 2013 #4: Zion United Methodist Church

Posted: March 28, 2013 in Fish Frydays, The County
Tags:

Mmmm

Another Friday full of fish adventures has come and gone. It’s amazing how many little things can go right or wrong and change a trip on the fly.

This past weekend our chosen destination was St. Matthias in South County. Having filled the car, as usual, with three generations of our family, the Honda Civic was pointed south.

Out of St. Louis City we went and into the wilds of South County all the while listening to music and Siri’s directions on how to get where we were going. As we passed down the road, United Methodist was on our right and jokingly I said, want to stop here to get fish instead? A good laugh was h ad by all as we kept chugging along down south.

Upon arrival at St. Matthias, a sadness overtook me, as there were nearly zero cars in the parking lot. This is never good at 5:45pm on a Fish Fryday. I rolled down the window to smell, and there was no smell of fish! We then checked the sign and saw that there was no fish fry today.  At least the car wasn’t emptied and we could just turn around and head to that place down the road.

Now after the requisite confusion of not knowing where we are eating, it was concluded by us that the Methodist Church was most likely our best bet at the present. By the time we remembered the name of the place and had it programmed into the iPhone, my wife pointed at it. We pulled it.

So, here’s the fish itself:

Cod and Tartar Sauce

Cod and Tartar Sauce

United Methodist had standard fare, fried cod, baked cod, etc. I did notice that their spaghetti was listed as with meatballs, but my daughter didn’t seem to mind.

Obviously I’m going to have some complaints here, as are plainly visible. Fries were not served by United Methodist Church, and neither was beer. Well, if you’re going to serve neither beer  nor fries, I don’t think I need to something something. I’m sure there’s a really funny joke in there, but I can’t seem to find it.

photo(2)

Mint Cake

It does have to be said that the fish itself was really good, but I am a bit suspicious on the size of pieces they gave me. Prices were listed for a single piece or for two pieces, and both my daughter and mother in law had far larger pieces of fish than I did.

I had no serious complaints with the green beans or cole slaw, but neither would be my first choice of sides. As my fish was small, I also indulged in a piece of cake for dessert, and it was phenomenal. It was a piece of mint chocolate cake and there are few flavors in this world that I love more than that.

Right now, I’m just thinking out loud a bit…doesn’t it seem like I’ve been to too many fish frys this season that aren’t serving beer?

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    Are they really serving fresh fresh like that with green beens? I don’t think I’m a fan of that. Without beer and fries.. I don’t know if I’m on board. Was the fish tasty atleast? I like this blog actually. Quite entertaining with the fish fries and such.

  2. The 13 Blog says:

    Yes, the fish was fairly tasty. It was neither the best nor the worst fish fry I’ve attended. Add beer, and it would have been fine.

    Thank you for the kind words.

Leave a Reply

