Salute American Vodka

Posted: March 12, 2013 in What the hell?
Tags:

Mres_SALUTE_bottleAwhile back an email arrived to me asking if I would be interested in checking out a new vodka called Salute American. Needless to say, this was a very surprising email. As has been well documented, I’m not really a vodka drinker. I believe that most people would know that I drink bourbon. I drink Scotch. And I drink beer. Hmm. I think I should write a song about that.

In fact, when I told my wife I was doing this post, she said what do you know about vodka? Me? not a whole to be perfectly honest, but I know what I like, but there was a time in the past when I drank a fair number of martinis and I definitely enjoy a spicy bloody mary from time to time.

What struck me about this group is that they are donating proceeds to causes that support returning veterans. This is something that is very near and dear to me. One of my closest friends, is a two time combat veteran who just returned home from Afghanistan last month. You may have read my being a bit weepy about it on twitter..sorry for any embarrassing drunk tweets but we drank a lot.

Let’s get back on track. So, as I was interested in checking out this vodka, a sample bottle was sent to me. I chose to compare Salute American to Grey Goose in a round robin taste test for a couple of reasons: comparisons are typically how I do boozy reviews and an A to B challenge would also negate any possible screwups in my mixology. (I’m not an accomplished drink maker.)

I chose to compare the two vodkas in a dirty martini challenge. (This also gave me a great reason to finally open up the dirty martini juice that was in my cabinet. I should mention that I also lacked olives.

Before I got down to business mixing my first martini, something occurred to me: I have no clue how to mix one. Thankfully my wife spent a bit of time as a bartender and she could.

Basically, what I want out of a martini is a good stiffness, a nice dirty taste, and well the rest is a bit indescribable. I should mention now that I didn’t like the first one that was made with American Salute Vodka. So, I scrapped the tasting for the day and tried again the next week.

I mixed the martinis myself this time and had Salute and Goose back to back while watching an afternoon hockey game. I felt so sophisticated! They were both made by me with no outside help. I used 2oz of  freezer chilled vodka, 1/2 oz of dry vermouth, and about a 1/4 oz of dirty olive juice made by Tom Collins I believe.

I have long loved Grey Goose martinis, though I don’t order them that much. The Salute went first and this tasted like no Grey Goose I had ever had. I then mixed the Grey  Goose Martini and it turns out, that I cannot mix a martini as well as a few choice bartenders.

What I can say is that Salute American Vodka is every bit as good as Grey Goose. The only difference is that by drinking Salute American Vodka, you’re not only supporting an American owned business, you’re supporting the troops and helping them too.

That’s a win/win.

With a price point that’s a full six dollars per bottle below Grey Goose, I suppose this becomes an epic win.

Leave a Reply

