Fish Frydays 2012 #4: Seven Holy Founders

Posted: March 23, 2012 in Fish Frydays

Found it.

Yes, this is my second trip to Affton for fried fish this year, and it’s also my third overall trip to Affton for fish.

Our mechanic is in South County and I had to drop off my car and pick up my wife’s car…so any sort of Fish Frys near the city or mid or west county were right out…or so I thought. I got to Seven Holy Founders pretty quickly and that included putting some gas her car…

When I first lived in Affton, I worked 10-7 Monday through Friday, and couldn’t ever attend Fish Frys and I always drove past this one. Of course, I never made it inside, but I’ve now changed all of that.

We arrived in time to see the final end of the Mizzou chokefest I mean, basketball game on their nicely sized TVs in the hall. What I noticed first was that as we came in, we were greeted by a nice man selling beer at a tap, and next to him was a long table of wine and spirits. I very briefly considered getting a mixed drink, but then I realized that there was no way that would be enjoyable with fish so I passed and we continued on to the cashier.

I’m quite happy to say that we were helped promptly and got our order straigtened out. For some reason, I decided today was the day for shrimp. So I ordered their combo and got a piece of fish, potatoes au gratin, and green beans. The wife ordered a pizza and spaghetti for herself and the baby.

The spaghetti is not mine.

I picked up a Bud Light on draft while I was picking up my food and then headed over to find a spot to sit in. This is another place that has the really long tables. I’m going to say that I don’t like those because we also have to deal with a baby in a stroller.  So we have to find our way to the end of a row, and that’s just not always all that easy. Have you seen how packed St. Louis’s Lenten Fish Frys get?! Oh well, so she had to sit on the other side of the table and from my wife and I, but right next to grandma. So we gave her spaghetti, fish pieces, etc and she seemed to enjoy her food, but there was none of the clapping that I saw last week over her fried cod.

And the fish….

Potatoes are not pictured due to their being on the wrong plate.

This is a piece of breaded cod. I really prefer batter dipped. I really didn’t enjoy the fish at all. My mother in law said something about minced fish…I’d never heard that before, but I didn’t enjoy this.

The shrimp was exactly what I expected it to be. Boxed shrimp that’s the same as anywhere else. (The fish was boxed as well…) The potatoes were ok, but a bit cold. As for the green beans, well I only know one person who can screw those up…and I’m writing this so, we don’t have to get into that. They were fine.

The beer was Bud Light on draft…and that’s never a good thing. All in all, I’d have rather had a fillet-o-fish instead of this meal. I am going to recommend using tartar sauce and ensuring you get cocktail sauce if you choose to have the shrimp. I did neither of these things and I think that would’ve improved my experience.

Leave a Reply

