St. Louis’s Perfect Slinger #35: Carondelet Diner

Posted: February 2, 2012 in slinger, STL: Carondelet
Tags: ,

Here we are.

I received an email from the former owner of Riverside Cafe. She wanted to let me know that she and her family were opening up a new restaurant and that she really wanted me to try her slinger. Her slinger was always one of my favorites and I was very sad to see her larger place go.

She was always very particular about her slingers. She was always very proud of them and did a very fine job with them. I was thinking about the fact that I’ve had the Riverside Cafe slinger about four times and just loved it each time. Could I review it again?

Yes.

The inside.

The place is a bit off the beaten path and right next to an interesting little area, but heading into the diner,I was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was.

We arrived around 1pm on a Sunday and there was a very nice crowd on hand.

We overheard one of  the waitresses talking and before the diner moved in, the place was a bar and was much nicer now according to a new patron there that day. The bar was still visible and I think it might have been a nice little bar, but I was there for their slinger and not what the place once was, but I’d bet that it would have been a pretty tight spot as this place isn’t all that big.

Now, let’s get to the slinger!

Big timin.

This was not only my 35th slinger for the blog, but my daughter’s first slinger! I wasn’t allowed to give her much of it, but she really seemed to enjoy the bits of chili and potato she was given.

Hash browns: Here was were things got very different. Instead of the old, forzen hash browns, they chose to use fresh potatoes and normally I don’t like those, but these were very good.

Yum. Yum.

Chili: At Carondelet Diner, like the Riverside Cafe, they use only Edmond’s Chili on their slingers. It really is all about the chili and this is the best to use for a slinger.

Eggs: As with most slingers, the eggs are the eggs and they aren’t really a big deal for me either way. I’ll say that they cooked them the exact way I’d hoped. Scrambled.

Toppins: It was full of onions, cheese, and jalapenos. This time I had to put them in a cup on the side, because I didn’t think that my one year old could handle a bit of them.

Sum up: Just like before, they serve one of the best slingers around. I wouldn’t normally enjoy the potatoes as much as I did, but for some reason on this one, they worked really well.

Just had to finish.

 

Comments
  1. A biscuit? Is that a biscuit that they gave you with a slinger? Brilliant.

  2. T. says:

    I guess the location is what caused the Carondelet Diner to close. I do hope someday the owner finds a location nearby that will work. They ALWAYS had good food.

    • The 13 Blog says:

      I’ve been a fan of their food since I first tried their place Riverside Cafe.

      • Susan Stewart says:

        Carondelet diner is now open again and we serve a pretty mean slinger too!Come try ours!We opened to years ago did not change the name because all the signs was already in place but i must say we have had it for 2 years now and we attract a great crowd

      • Sue Stewart says:

        Come try our slinger open under new owner same location same name !

      • Sue Stewart says:

        Come try a slinger now carondelet diner is open under a new owner last 2 years it is awesome slinger is one of the best

  3. Susan Stewart says:

    Carondelet diner is now open again and we serve a pretty mean slinger too!Come try ours!We opened to years ago did not change the name because all the signs was already in place but i must say we have had it for 2 years now and we attract a great crowd

Leave a Reply

