Beer Squared #19: Pilsners

Posted: October 6, 2011 in Beer Squared, Beer: Pilsners
Tags: , , , ,

56, 57, and 58.

On our quest to 100 beers, we seem to find ourselves drinking a few styles more than once. This is our third go around with pilsners. I’ve long loved pilsners which makes me always kind of happy to try these out.

In this tasting session we have a local craft beer, an imported beer, and a craft beer. I was also happy to let Bob try one of my current favorites, Peter’s Brand Dutch Pilsener. (This one’s the import.)

So, without further delay I give you our fifty sixth, fifty seventh, and fifty eighth beers from Beer Squared: Peter’s Brand Dutch Pilsener, Ray Hill’s Classic American Pilsner, and Dundee Pilsner. Between the two of us we each have some pretty strong feelings about each one of these beers, and we don’t seem to really agree too much this session either.

Who do you trust more?

Peter’s Brand Dutch Pilsener (5.0% ABV)

Peter's Brand Dutch Pilsener

Nik: Lately I’ve been drinking a lot of this beer. I’ve been picking it up at Trader Joe’s for $6 for a sixer of pints. That’s a fine value that’s very refreshing, especially in the hot summer we just had. It’s got a weak aroma and full head that dissipates quickly. It has a very strong bite, and a very clear color. It has a strong hop flavor for a lager and a very smooth taste. Though a bit heavy for a true session beer…it’s pretty close to just that.

Bob: I’ve always been a little skeptical of beer that comes in a can rather than a bottle. That’s probably not a rational position, though, especially when I usually pour my beer into a glass from either container. Fortunately we weren’t too put off by this brew being canned to give it a try, because it is one of the better pilsners I’ve tasted. It poured to a clear golden color, with a nice head and lots of bubble that kept rising in the glass like a good pilsner (or Champagne, for that matter!) should. Had a fine noble hop aroma and taste, again as a good pilsner should, with reasonable body and a pleasing bitterness that lasted through the aftertaste. I will definitely buy this again.

Ray Hill’s Classic American Pilsner (4.9% ABV)

Classic American Pilsner

Nik: It has a very nice golden color and clarity with a very weak aroma. The taste came off as more sour than bitter to me. I’ve had this beer a couple times and I just can’t seem to enjoy it at all. Again, I dumped it out. I’ve tried it thrice, and that’s three times too many.

Bob: This is a different pilsner that folks seem to either love or hate. I first tasted it a few years ago when Ray himself was making the rounds of local beer sellers offering free tasting. I tried it and liked it, buying a sixer on the spot and continuing to buy it occasionally over the years since. It pours to a medium golden color, with a head that dissipates quickly. Not a lot of aroma, but has interesting sweet and sour tastes layered over a rich maltiness, with a decent aftertaste. It always tastes like one more to me!

Dundee Pilsner (4.5% ABV)

Dundee Pilsner

Nik: I’ve had a few Dundee beers here and there and I’ve liked each one. This one has a very pale color and it’s crystal clear. It has a nice hop aroma and aftertaste that begins with a strong malty and bitter flavor. All around this is the best beer of the session and I’ll be picking this one up many more times.

Bob: This brew was a very pale yellow color in the glass, with a rich white head that lasted a long time. Very mild hop aroma. Tasted a little zingy, with a good balance of hops and malt and a nice bitterness that lingered through a short aftertaste. Detected a slight metallic taste, however, that put me off and eliminated this as a contender that I would ever go out of my way to find.

 

Comments
  1. Brant Lanford says:

    It’s some shame you don’t have a relatively contribute button! I’d undoubtedly contribute to that excellent blog site! I just suppose for the moment i’ll happy with bookmarking not to mention incorporating a Rss towards your Search engine profile.

Leave a Reply

