St. Louis Steaks #8: Crusoe’s

Posted: September 15, 2011 in St. Louis Steaks, STL: Dutchtown
Tags: , ,

In historic Dutchtown.

I know it’s been a while since I’ve put up a post about a steak sandwich. You hopefully have noticed and been enjoying the many beer squared posts. Well another Saturday afternoon lunch came up and my family and I ended up at one of our favorite local restaurants, Crusoe’s.

This restaurant was actually one of the first places my wife and I went to when we were dating. So, this place long has had a nice history for us. I have to fully endorse their steak dinners, hamburgers, pasta, but I can’t comment on their pizza. They also have a 3am bar on the other side of the restaurant that now seems to contain skeeball and a skeeball league…which I’m going to look up and hopefully be a champion…I’ve also heard tale that they serve a slinger on the Sunday brunch menu. I’m hoping my wife wants to go out for breakfast tomorrow…

Well, enough of all that ramblings. That’s now what I’m here to talk about today. I’ve been wembling back and forth on this next topic.

I feel that it’s important to the story though. So…I decided about a year ago to never eat their steak sandwich again. It was always terrible. It was too chewy, too fatty, and I couldn’t really enjoy it no matter what, but as I’m blogging about steak sandwiches now, it seemed only fair to give them another shot really, esepecially since they’ve made some pretty significant changes to their menu.

Om nom nom.

The Crusoe’s steak sandwich is listed as an 8oz strip steak. It is served on a garlic hoagie roll and topped with provel cheese, onions, and mushrooms.

Let’s get the best look we can at it…I’m going to apologize profusely for the terrible quality of this photo.

I tried very hard to get the best pictures I could, but I don’t bring my camera on these runs and there’s no flash on my phone. This place is pretty dark…so the picture came out iffy at best. I’m sorry.

When it came, there was a significant amount of meat hanging out of the side. That was where I began eating my sandwich.

As soon as I bit into it, I had the old sinking sensation about their steak sandwich. It had too much gristle and too much fat and I couldn’t bite into eat easily.

I even had to swallow a bit that wasn’t ready to be swallowed…so I was a bit concerned already.

The whole plate.

When I moved into the body of the sandwich, everything seemed to change. The garlic bread roll is just such a wonderful addition to a steak sandwich. It was so good that everybody should use this kind of bread. Seriously, if you serve a steak sandwich, call Crusoe’s and find out how they make their bread because I’m sure that yours isn’t as good.

The onions and mushrooms really left quite a bit to be desired in the taste department. This was mostly because I don’t think they really had much of a taste to talk about. I really don’t remember even tasting them. I feel like I need to talk about the cheese.

It was provel cheese. I’m going to be pretty unapologetic about this. I’m born and raised St. Louis. I’ve been in this area all my life and I’ve grown up eating provel cheese on pizzas, sandwiches, pastas, etc. I only learned that there was a “controversy” regarding provel cheese when I became good friends with a former co-worker from Wisconsin. I have to say the cheese on this sandwich was spectacular and that I think every steak sandwich should come covered in provel cheese. I have had two steak sandwiches smothered in the St. Louis staple, and I have loved them both.

There were a few little issues I had. It was a bit too fatty. It was a bit overcooked for my liking and for what I’d ordered. The toppins were bland, and there was a burnt taste to the outside of the meat. However, beyond those things, the inside of the steak was really good and very filling. The fries it came with are an entirely different story however. This is definitely a very good sandwich worth checking out.

Comments
  1. […] St. Louis Steaks #8: Crusoe's « The 13 Blog […]

  2. I could not think you are more right.

Leave a Reply

