St. Louis Steaks #1: Murdoch Perk

Posted: May 13, 2011 in St. Louis Steaks, STL: Southampton
Tags: ,

Again and again.

Recently, I’ve noticed that we’re actually running out of slingers in St. Louis City…. This kind of made me sad. So I tried to think of another thing I really like to eat and that is a good steak sandwich. Just like the slinger is typically my go to for breakfast, the steak sandwich is often my go to for lunch or dinner. Off the top of my head, I can name about 10  places that I have eaten their offering…so henceforth, I’m going to be giving my unlearned opinion on them as well as that of the slinger.

So, a couple of weeks back, my wife and I were out running from garage sale to garage sale. (Don’t laugh, we got an awesome maroon fleur de lis runner for our hallway for only twenty dollars!)  So, as we were out, our stomachs started to rumble and as we were on South Kingshighway in Southampton already, I thought we should go to Murdoch Perk and get a quick bite for breakfast for ourselves and the baby.

Egg sandwich.

My wife felt this was a perfect opportunity to show that just because a place doesn’t have the best slinger, there still could be other great reasons to return.

So, here’s her egg sandwich.  She was pretty happy with it, but the problem was that she was getting the baby’s bottle ready and I ordered for her, and she didn’t get what she would have, but she did enjoy what she got. So I chalked that up for a win for myself. I decided to get a steak sandwich for myself, obviously.

When we went to Murdoch Perk the first time, I noticed that they have a very extensive menu and that I’d love to try a goodly number of their dishes. I don’t recall if I saw their steak sandwich or not that time, but I certainly did this time and I chose to order one this time.

The guts of the sandwich.

As you can see, their steak sandwich is a steak and egg breakfast sandwich, which happens to be what I order in the times we go to Macs for breakfast, except this was on rye bread and not a bagel. What kind of surprised me was the fact that they served “Philly cheese steak” style steak cuts. Of all the steak sandwiches I’ve eaten that weren’t Philly cheese steaks, this was the first to come like this and it worked very well I must say.

The half I had yet to eat.

One of the biggest problems I run into in steak sandwiches is being able to eat them. I’ve had some that are just too hard to cut with my teeth and eating them becomes a chore at best. With the broken cheese steak pieces, that was not a problem at all.

This was a full sandwich, but the idea to blog about it didn’t come about till the first half had already been devoured….

It was topped with onions and provolone cheese. I really enjoyed this sandwich. The meat was very flavorful, the eggs were nice and fluffy, but I would have preferred more onions, but that’s a pretty typical complaint on my part.

All in all, this is a very good place to get some breakfast. Check out their steak sandwich.

Leave a Reply

