Fish Frydays 2011 #2: St. Gabriel The Archangel

Posted: March 21, 2011 in Fish Frydays, STL: St. Louis Hills
Tags: , ,

Oh yes it is that time.

Well, it was the second Friday of Lent and my family and I were ready to eat another big steaming plate of fried fish. With out of town guests, I was told to make sure I picked a good one…so I decided this was a good weekend to revisit the scene of epic failure last year…
St. Gabes…

This time, like last time, we all were arriving in separate cars, but I wasn’t tasked in finding the proper line…this was a good thing. As we arrived, we noticed that we were waiting outside the door…in the playround of the school. Oh well…I then had to run back to the car to get my wife’s hoody…she didn’t want to be cold and I really couldn’t blame her for that and she’s been a trooper with the fish frys and my insanity…I feel for my daughter. There was a very long line, I seemed to recall last year that the fish was pretty good as well. We another obstacle th is time…: our stroller, so going up and down all those steps with baby girl in it  wasn’t going to be all that easy, but we made due.

The line.

We waited in line for about 45 minutes until we sat down at a table and began to eat. This is a pretty long wait, but we were there after 6pm, so that’s life. The best part about being in line for a long time is that at St. Gabe’s, the free beer man comes out and you get free beer. Yes, this is one of those fish frys. They were very generous with their free beer. I could have had about 5 free beers before I even paid for my food. The only problem is that it was a can of Budweiser, but hey free beer is free beer. It wasn’t the first free can of Bud I’ve ever drank, and I doubt it’ll be the last. After last week’s beer selection, I was disappointed that the only beer they had was cans of the Budweiser family of beers. Aside from the free ones, they were selling cans for $2 each in the cafeteria.

Free beer guy!

They serve baked cod, fried cod, jack salmon, and catfish. Each fish meal comes with two sides, a drink, and a dessert for $8. So, they’re right in the middle of the price range. I’d been wanting to have some catfish, but I was told that they were already out of catfish, so I just went with the cod, as per my normal. Really I don’t think anyone can go wrong ordering up a fried piece of cod, so I wasn’t too upset about it, but every place I go seems to be out of catfish when I get there…maybe there should be more catfish ordered each week? Oh well I suppose.

So, in line, I get my fried cod…they gave me three large pieces of cod. I have to say, the disappointment I was feeling for their being out of catfish was tempered by nearly a pound of fried fish heaped onto my plate. I then got a side of green beans (apparently the training my wife is giving me to eat green vegetables is working…) and an order of fries. They had packets of ketchup and lemon juice. This was the first time I didn’t have to raid the iced tea station for lemons and I was digging that. Now it’s time to eat.

My fish.

We sat down and I took stock of everything, grabbed my beverage and began eating. Last year…I’d noticed that their cod was really good…so I was excited to give this a proper try. I opened up my lemon juice packets and began eating. it was very flavorful and I really enjoyed it. My only qualm was that the pieces were quite salty. I do like salty food, but this was a just a touch past what I like. Now, that didn’t stop me from eating every piece of the fish they’d given me.

Another view.

The side dishes they had weren’t anything to really speak of. French fries, green beans, mac and cheese. All normal fare. My green beans were cold and tasted like green beans. The fries though, were piping hot and quite enjoyable.

I was given a very strong recommendation for St. Gabes last year, and I enjoyed the cod in my car while driving down Chippewa so much, I thought I would give them a real try this year, and all in all I’d call them above average. I’ve had far worse, and better. Their beer was poor. Cans of Bud, Select, Light, Busch and Busch Light. The fish was very good, though a touch salty. The side dishes were mundane, but of the two I had, one was spectacular and the other mundane…which averages out to an above average. All in all, St. Gabes does it pretty well, but a bit more efficiency wouldn’t hurt them…but then this could easily take away from the free beer quotient…which I must now discuss.

Fish Frys that give out free beer get extra points. Go to St. Gabes.

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    Good to see you made it to St. Gabriel this Lent.
    They always run out of either the catfish or jack salmon early – but it’s not like they know how much to order.

    My personal fish frye tour will take me to St. James in Dogtown tomorrow.

  2. fish fry says:

    Howdy! I just wish to give you a big thumbs up for your excellent info you have here on this post. I will be returning to your website for more soon.

  3. […] Comments Pat on Barristers Clayton, MOfish fry on Fish Frydays 2011 #2: St. Gabr…The 13 Blog on Beer Squared #28: English Bitt…Mike on Beer Squared #28: English […]

Leave a Reply

