The Great Potato Chip Debate

Posted: March 1, 2011 in What the hell?
Tags: , , , ,

The taste of the heartland...

If you live in or around St. Louis, MO…I am sure that these chips have been eaten by you.

It’s damned near impossible to escape them. Not only that, but they continually make new flavors. Just last week, I noticed Pork Steak BBQ flavored Riplets. All their chips are riplets…Cheesey Riplets…Red Hot Riplets…BBQ Riplets…then they’ve also got a line of corn chips, cheetos like snacks, and all sorts of other things. Well, the BBQ Pork Steak Chips got me to thinking…and then it was time to begin talking about potato chips here at the 13 Blog.

So, I decided I was going to go to a corner store I frequent near my house and buy a whole big armload of their chips. I have to say, the people there thought it was very strange to see a person buying five different flavors of their chips at once….”Do you need a salt over load today?”

Pork Steak BBQ

The New Kid....

I decided to start out with the newest flavor. When I was looking at the bags of chips that I had purchased for this post…I really wanted to eat these first because I’ve had the others many times.

I was talking to my friend about these when I was on my way to pick them up, and he asked, well, can they really taste any different than regular BBQ potato chips?

Well, I’m here to tell you that these chips do not taste like any other barbecue flavored chips in the whole damned world. For starters, they have a grilled flavor to them. I mean I can taste the charcoal coming out of the Weber Kettle…Delor Style, and not just that, but also the  Maull’s bbq sauce! These chips are just fantastic.

Wisconsin Cheddar and Sour Cream Riplets

Another tasty bag.

Is it possible to not like cheese flavored potato chips? I really don’t think so, and that is why I went with these for the second go of the Old Vienna Chips.

I’ve had these a great number of times on my lunch breaks and when I’ve been out and about. Even though, to me, Old Vienna’s claim to fame are the hot flavored chips, this flavor always gives me pause when I’m picking up a bag…I love hot foods, and these chips are just that good.

Best cheese flavored chips ever. They make the claim that there’s real Wisconsin cheddar in there, but I dunno about that. I just know they taste great. I am not 100% that I can taste the sour cream that they alluded to…but I’ll give that a pass this time.

Cheesy Red Hot Riplets

Mash up!

With this entry into the Old Vienna line, they’ve taken the original Red Hot Riplets and added some cheese flavor to them.

Really, in this case what’s not to love? Red Hot Riplets are among the best tasting chips in the known universe and well, cheese is nature’s #1 toppin…(bacon being #2, but we all know that bacon is nature’s pepper…I guess cheese would be nature’s other pepper?)

I just plowed through this bag after I opened it up. I cannot complain about this awesome chip. I have to say that I buy these about half of the time when I get Old Vienna  chips. This is just a great, great flavor.

Barbecue Flavored Potato Chips

Another entry into the storied line.

The biggest difference that’s easily noticeable with this variety of chips, is that they’re thins. These are the only ones in this post that aren’t rippled chips. Aside from Old Vienna, I do not eat rippled chips…only thins. (There is also another style of Red Hot Riplets called Red Hot Thins, which are also great.)

These surely have a different flavor and lack the heat of the red hot line, and don’t have the charcoal taste (or the insanity) of the BBQ Pork Steak ones, but these are a great change of pace for Old Vienna fans. They are different than the other riplet flavors, but they really are the best BBQ chips I have ever eaten, and a great change of pace for when I have way too many of the hot riplets!

Red Hot Riplets

The original.

These are the original Old Vienna Riplets. I don’t personally think they are the best, but these are the most widely known and widely available. I actually have a bottle of the St. Louis Style Hot Sauce used in these chips. (It’s great for adding to BBQ sauces…) When I worked at an upstanding corporate office, we had these in the vending machines. There’s not a St. Louisan alive who doesn’t know what these chips are.

I will never, ever stop eating these. I have a friend from Detroit that whenever she comes to visit, she heads back north with about fives bags of them. She also informed me that they can be purchased online now. I think that made her happy.

These are hot, spicy, flavorful, and uniquely St. Louis. There’s nothing else than can be or need be said about them.

Comments
  1. Sue says:

    I, personally, can taste the sour cream in the Sour Cream and Cheddar Riplets.

    Pork steaks are so very St. Louis. I did not know these chips existed!
    And Cheesy Red Hot Riplets?? I didn’t know they existed either!

  2. Nikki says:

    Great blog! I love these chips….

  3. Bill Kunderman says:

    I have never eaten a chip as good as the Old Vienna Pork Steak Flavored chip. I hope more uniquely STL flavors will come from this. How about an IMO’s Sausage Pizza Flavor?

    • The 13 Blog says:

      That would be awesome! What about provel cheese flavored? If they can make pork steak flavored chips…are there really any frontiers for them?!

      DO IT OLD VIENNA!

  4. Bob Ulsas says:

    Nothing better than the Red Hot Riplets. I always take them with me when I travel since St Louis is the only place you can buy them. Went to spring training for a week and took two bags.

  5. Wade says:

    Red Hot Riplets are delicious, quite different to the crisps we have over the pond.

  6. Mike says:

    Where did you get the “St. Louis Hot Sauce”? A google search doesn’t turn up much except references to Red hot Riplets.

    • The 13 Blog says:

      I found a bottle of it at Schnucks like two years ago. I’ll post a picture of it on the facebook page when I get home from class tonight. It’s nothing too special honestly.

      • Jack says:

        Thanks for the tip! I’ll be going to Schnuck’s as soon as I can. It may not be the best sauce, but, hey.. it’s St. Louis! ’nuff said. 🙂

  7. Nina says:

    These are now in columbia missouri as well. Check out the Petro marts, breatimes and Mosers food stores for they have them! Pork steak is to die for!!!

  8. Sean J says:

    I’ve never been too keen on the cheesy flavors but the others are pure gold.

Leave a Reply

