Part 28 Of The Continuing Series, St. Louis’s Perfect Slinger: Rooster

Posted: January 3, 2011 in slinger, STL: Downtown
Tags: , ,
Let’s eat.

Back in the saddle. Well, here we are again. This past holiday weekend we made it out to try another slinger.  I’d been told a few times that I needed to try the Rooster Slinger, so we head out to give it a try.

I have to say that I really wasn’t too enthused about trying it.  This is another of what I’m now calling “duty slingers,” or perhaps “idiom” slinger is a better term?  Either way, it wasn’t  a traditional St. Louis slinger, but that no longer stops me from trying them out.  It seems like every so often I have to widen my slinger search to include things I wouldn’t have last year.

Insdie the place.

Rooster is a nice little cafe in a very old brick building downtown.  It’s owned by the same folks that own the Chocolate Bar in Lafayette Square.

I really loved the decor there and the vibe.  They were still decorated for the  holidays and had an orange Christmas tree right in the doorway.  It was very hard not to notice this thing.  I’m hardly a traditionalist, but man, this tree needed to be toned down a few notches!  Oh well, we weren’t there to check out the decorations, but the slinger anyway.

In case you forgot....

So, I couldn’t remember precisely what was on the Rooster Slinger, I was just sure that I didn’t want to eat it.  As we perused the menus, I saw.  It’s made with andouille sausage, eggs, toast, breakfast potatoes, and sausage gravy.

The list of ingredients here doesn’t make me too interested quite frankly, but I’ve only once copped out on a slinger, and I wasn’t ready to have a second.  So, we all ordered our food and waited.  When we go to a nicer place, the wives come along as well.  When it’s a creepy diner, they don’t.

The slinger.

Square plates…on a side note, I hate square plates.

So, here we have it.  There’s really not a whole lot that can be seen in this photo.  The gravy covers everything.   OK, so let’s get to it.

Toast.

Potatoes: This slinger instead of having any manner of potatoes that I’ve had before, had fried potatoes.  Like those that are served at Lamberts.  They were really good and a great part of the slinger, the issue is that there were far too few of them.  They were almost non-existent except as garnish.

Meat Patty: Instead of a traditional sausage or hamburger patty, this slinger had cut up pieces of andouille sausage.  This was my first time with this particular meat as well.  There was plenty of meat all over the slinger, but unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy it. There was far more meat than potatoes, which I’m pretty sure is a first.

Andouille sausage.

Chili: The chili on this slinger was replaced by sausage gravy.

I’m not certain if it was gravy made from the same sausage that was on the slinger, but I’d learn towards no.  I don’t like gravy on my slingers.

Toppins: This slinger didn’t have any of what I’d normally consider to be toppins.  There were no cheese, no onions, no peppers..nothing at all.  The closest thing to a toppin’ was a slice of thick cut Texas toast that was underneath the slinger.

Coffee and cream.

Originally, as I was eating it, I tried cutting the toast up and eating that along with the other parts of the slinger, but the toast was so tough and the table was so slick…I almost knocked every thing off of the table as I was eating, so I had to give that up.

Sum Up: Again, I didn’t like this slinger one bit.  I was at least very hungry, so I did eat very large portions of it.  I think I’m going to start calling these idiom slingers.  Restaurants in the City are selling what they call slingers, but they really aren’t.  These places are trying to sell something that is like a slinger, but made in their own idiom, and not traditional slingers.  My companions all had wonderful meals and couldn’t be happier.  Then I also had a nice little side dish….

Redemption!

I noticed that Rooster has a great selection of booze.  I also saw after I’d ordered the large bloody mary sign…

So..when our server came back, I ordered up a “Bloody ‘ell” Bloody Mary…it was listed as scorching hot, but being a confirmed chilihead, I’d have to disagree and say it was pleasingly hot.

Though my slinger disappointed, I happily sipped on this after my breakfast.  Like Local Harvest Cafe, I’ll return and have breakfast or lunch, but I surely won’t go back and have the slinger again.

Next time, we’re going to try to get a more traditional slinger.  I’ve had a couple high class ones in a row now, and I think I need to get another greasy one!

Comments
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Nik, Nik. Nik said: Part 28 Of The Continuing Series, St. Louis's Perfect Slinger: Rooster: http://wp.me/pTwhR-aO […]

  2. Danielle says:

    bummed that you didn’t like the slinger! I work right near Rooster and have been wanting to stop in for brunch sometime. I’ll stick with one of their crepes instead I guess!

  3. The Luchador says:

    St. Charles Slingers…. those are the good ones.

Leave a Reply

