Part 27 of the Continuing Series, St. Louis’s Perfect Slinger: Local Harvest Cafe

Posted: December 21, 2010 in slinger, STL: Tower Grove South
Tags: , , , , ,

Let's do this.

Hello again, my friends. It has been awhile since I’ve been out and about looking for a slinger, but we hit the road one more time.  This time, there was a third person who came along.  St. Louis Public Radio chose to do a sonic ID on me.  So, sometime next year, you’ll hear my dulcet tones talking about slingers on NPR…nutty ain’t it?!  I’m still pretty surprised by the whole thing, but it’s another awesome thing I can say that blogging has helped me achieve.  Apparently, Adam Alington reads my blog!  Thanks Adam!!!

Enough talk about me, let’s get this show going.  We ended up choosing Local Harvest Cafe.  When we went to The Three Monkeys, we found that Local Harvest also had a slinger on their menu.  We put that one in the bank and kept moving around town.  So, when the NPR thing came up, we had to find some place quick and we pulled that out of the bank and chose to go there.

Inside.

Local Harvest is definitely a place that I wouldn’t normally frequent.  I’m not really what I’d call a foodie…of course I’m not 100% sure I know what that means.  I think technically I’m a food blogger, but I’m not even going to go that far.  Local Harvest is a very high quality establishment that prides itself on fresh ingredients from local farms, and that’s a concept I can definitely get behind.  This means that my slinger was going to be fancy.

They also serve vegetarian and vegan slingers.  I did notice that they also serve it with meat if requested: ham, bacon, or sausage.  I requested the sausage and the jalepenos.

Hello!

So, here it is. The foodie slinger I guess.  Again, let me reiterate that I’m not one of those people.  I love my slingers greasy and very unhealthy.  That’s what I find to be the tastiest, but let’s take it from bottom to top and see how this one fares.

Potatoes: They use breakfast potatoes here.  Just like every other place that wants to fancy up their slinger.  They weren’t crisp or fried.  I’m not sure precisely how they were prepared…but thankfully they weren’t boiled.

Close up.

Eggs: As usual, there was nothing to complain about here.  I still really can’t figure out how anybody could screw up the eggs….wait….

Meat Patty: Well, they asked me if I wanted ham, bacon, or sausage, after a moment of reflection, I chose the sausage, but they chose to not give it to me.  I don’t know if they didn’t have any or what happened, but I didn’t get any meat, and I had to pay extra.  This seems like a good time to mention that it’s very strange to order a slinger while being interviewed….

Chili: Now,  here’s where things really get weird.  I’ve had breakfast potatoes before, and all sorts of other things, but the chili was full of chick peas and garbanzo beans. I just can’t get behind this stuff.  My wife and her family love hummus, but I don’t, and I found out why…I just don’t like chick peas.

Cheese and beans.

Toppins: On top I got mozzarella cheese, raw red onions, and jalapenos.  I will never stop loving jalapeno peppers on my slingers.  Considering I also put hot sauce on them, this really makes perfect sense.

The mozzarella cheese was something that I found to be a bit strange, and I think I still prefer the cheddar or American cheese underneath the patties.

Sum Up: I didn’t like this slinger at all.  In my estimation, even though it does have all the ingredients, it’s hard to call it a slinger.  When I get them like this, I really think the places are selling slingers out of duty.  A slinger is hangover food…and I just can’t see this curing my hangover at all, but I do think that The Local Harvest Cafe would be a great place to get a sandwich and the Sky Blue Cola (with real sugar!) was awesome.

I also want to give another thank you to St. Louis Public Radio.  More often than not when we leave to get a slinger, our radio is tuned to 90.7 KWMU and we’re listening to Car Talk, Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me, etc.  To be featured on your station is a great honor.

 

 

Comments
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Nik and Nik, Nik. Nik said: Part 27 of the Continuing Series, St. Louis's Perfect Slinger: Local Harvest Cafe: http://wp.me/pTwhR-aA […]

  2. Danielle says:

    The slinger may not have been a hit, but definitely head back to Local Harvest for some ‘normal’ food. Their sandwiches are fantastic! I went recently as I was just driving around looking for a deli for late Sunday lunch, and fell in love! I’ve been back multiple times now. It is the sort of place I wish I lived around the corner from so i could go there in the morning for coffee, evenings for dinner, and weekends for brunch. LOVE!

  3. battra13 says:

    Danielle, I really don’t doubt that one bit. I’d expect that their food would be spectacular, but when you try to class up the slinger…it doesn’t really work so good. I definitely want to give their beef brisket sandwich a try.

  4. Ryan aka oregonmon says:

    What an disaster and misuse of the term slinger. In my slinger days I was sort of a foodie, and now I’m even more of a foodie but this doesn’t work for me at all.
    To me a foodie slinger would be like this.
    -Really good smoked bacon or house made pork sausage.
    -Farm fresh chicken or heck duck eggs fried with a soft orange yolk that you only get with farm eggs.
    -Crispy hash browned Yukon gold potatoes.
    -house made chili, made with short ribs, a good lager or ale and some nice spice and
    heat
    -topped with quality sharp cheddar and diced onions
    There are areas from adjustments but it still retains the major components
    I do like the jalopeno idea though.
    Nothing from a can and fresh quality ingredients.
    Congratulations on the NPR article, slingers going big time.
    Hehe!
    Congratulations

  5. battra13 says:

    See…that sounds a lot better than what I ate. At least is wasn’t so bad that I had to go get the taste out of my mouth, or go get breakfast somewhere else..lol.

    Thanks…It’s not a big thing, but it feels like a big deal.

  6. My fun blog says:

    What an disaster and misuse of the term slinger. In my slinger days I was sort of a foodie, and now I’m even more of a foodie but this doesn’t work for me at all.To me a foodie slinger would be like this.-Really good smoked bacon or house made pork sausage.-Farm fresh chicken or heck duck eggs fried with a soft orange yolk that you only get with farm eggs.-Crispy hash browned Yukon gold potatoes.-house made chili, made with short ribs, a good lager or ale and some nice spice and heat-topped with quality sharp cheddar and diced onionsThere are areas from adjustments but it still retains the major componentsI do like the jalopeno idea though.Nothing from a can and fresh quality ingredients.Congratulations on the NPR article, slingers going big time.Hehe!Congratulations
    +1

  7. Mark Groth says:

    Not an impressive slinger, I agree. But there grilled cheese is quite tasty. FWIW, as the dork that I am, my fantasy football team is called the South City Slingers and I won the league championship this year. Good luck in 2011 and keep up the good work. Oh, yeah, congrats on the NPR gig.

    There’s a variable in the enjoyment of the south side slinger that will be affected in 2011…the loss of cigarette smoke in the air at Courtesy, Eat Rite and other classic slinger joints. For whatever reason, that always seems to add to the experience/slinger hang over.

  8. […] we’re hear to talk about the slinger. This is a largely self service place like Local Harvest Cafe. So I walked up and ordered a hungry man, scrambled and asked for a meat patty on top..a sausage or […]

Leave a Reply

