The 13 Blog On The Road: Uncle Joe’s Diner

Posted: December 3, 2010 in 13 Blog On The Road, slinger
Tags: , , ,

Hello! Hello! It’s been awhile, yes, I’m well aware and for that I apologize, but I cannot tell you just how busy I’ve gotten over the past few months.  Not to tell you too much, but this is my biggest class schedule, my best friend got married in Buffalo, my soccer blog has taken off, we’re expecting a little one, and I even have a small gig with a Pro Soccer Team in the area.

I am trying to get back into the swing of things, and I do have to say…it’s getting harder and harder to find slingers these days.  I’ve been to 26 different restaurants looking for them, so please as always, help me find new ones.  Today, we’re revisiting an old idea I had, the 13 Blog on the road.  I mentioned my best friend got married, but I didn’t mention that I was also the best man…it’s been an interesting few weeks!

Anchor Bar Buffalo Wings.

Well, after a night of carousing at the Anchor Bar and the Shadow Lounge, Iwasn’t feeling as great as I could have the next morning. Single malt scotches, bourbon, Yuengling, and Labatt’s do not mix all that well after you’ve had a night to sleep on it now do they?

So, what am I supposed to do?  I’ve got to be the best man in about 4 hours, and I’ve not even written a speech yet…ugh.  So we go fill up the car, and I ask the attendant where I can get some breakfast.  He asks me if I want something like Denny’s or what…I tell him that I want a greasy breakfast, and he says to me, well then you want Uncle Joe’s Diner.

Perfect, now we’re in business.

This the place.

So, we head in and I start perusing the menu.  I see that they have potatoes, sausage, eggs, and then an idea pops into my head.

Can I piece meal a slinger?

My wife quickly realized what was going on in my somewhat spinning head and just groaned a bit, but hey I’m a man on a mission!  Unfortunately, I cannot find that they serve chili, well this obviously would be a bit of a setback, but I ask our waitress when she arrives if they serve chili, and she replied in the affirmative.  So, I then tell her I want hashbrowns, she explains they have home fries, and chili, and sausage patties, she explains they have links, and scrambled eggs all served together.

Inside the place.

So as our server goes off to explain what the hell this nutter wants done to his breakfast, I begin to survey my surroundings.  I found the place to be very similar to City Diner and 12th Street Diner, not exactly my favorite places, but it had a nice family vibe to it, and they even sell merch.

Gotta love that.  I wait patiently for my breakfast and hope that it’ll do the job I need it to.  I also wonder what it’s going to be like with links of sausage instead of the more traditional sausage patties?  I was trying to stay on a budget which was why I didn’t order a hamburger patty to go with.

Here we go.

As you can see, there’s not a whole lot to this one, but it’s not like they even know what I’m talking about so, I can’t complain.  I also didn’t order the traditional accoutrements aside from the cheese.  So there were no onions at all.  What surprised me was that my server had asked the kitchen to cut up the sausage links.  So instead of two big sausages, I got little sausage bits like in the Time Out slinger.  No complaints there.

Note the Labatt's Blue sign.

So, I have to say, for this probably being the first slinger they have ever served at Uncle Joes, it was really good and I ate the whole thing.

I do wish they’d have  had hashbrowns, but cest la vie.  They serve what they serve and I had a very good breakfast.  I also got pretty lucky that I wasn’t charged for each piece separately, but for a breakfast scramble or some other such thing.  I did come across a smaller and somewhat seedier diner while I was up there, but the wife wasn’t exactly thrilled with the idea of greasy diner food two days in a row, so we settled on Tim Horton’s instead.

TIMMY'S!

I surely couldn’t rebel against that plan, as I’ve been wanting to enjoy myself some Tim Horton’s ever since I had begun being brainwashed by this Canadian company since the first year I had Center Ice.

I guess the moral of this story is that if you’re a St. Louisan and you find yourself in a need of a slinger when you’re out and about, don’t be shy, and see if they can build you one.  You don’t have to tell them what it is, just tell them what it has.  After breakfast I went back to the hotel, got into my tux and wrote a kick ass best man’s speech.

Catch ya next time.

Comments
  1. Mike Brewer says:

    I have to say – that looks crazy good.

    Hope your weekend is a good one!

  2. Migor St. Marseille says:

    This post brings up a (possibly excellent) question…

    Is a slinger made from items on a menu at a place that doesn’t technically serve slingers per se pass muster as an actual slinger? It is your blog, so I’m not calling you out or anything of the sort. Just curious.

    • battra13 says:

      I can tell you this, it was a delightful sight and a welcome relief from the night before, but was it an actual slinger? Probably not.

Leave a Reply

