Part 23 of the Continuing Series, St. Louis’s Perfect Slinger: Jefferson Ave Bistro

Posted: July 29, 2010 in slinger, STL: Gravois Park
Tags: , ,

Here we are.

It has certainly been longer than it should have been.  At least that’s really what it seems like to me.

For that, I’m all kinds of sorry, but things in my life have been pretty damned hectic lately, and finding time to get out and having a new slinger has just really been at a premium.  However, this past weekend, I got back out there  and had myself a slinger at the Jefferson Ave Bistro.

This was our second trip into the Gravois Park Neighborhood.  I thought we were off to Benton Park or Benton Park West, but apparently, we just were a little too far south for that, so I’m going to have to try a bit harder to get up there.  I’ve been to there before, but it’s been awhile and never for breakfast.  I even checked their menu to see if they have a slinger, and there’s not one listed there.

The bar.

However, a little intrepid research was done by my slinger partner, and he discovered, that they do in fact, serve a slinger, but for some reason, they don’t have it on the menu.  I have no idea what’s up with that.

so we discovered they do have a slinger and we headed out to have one of their slingers.  I’m guessing, since it’s not listed on their menu that they’re not using a special name for it like several other places.  What I also liked about it not being listed was that I couldn’t have any preconceived notions about how it would taste, or even how it was prepared or with what ingredients.  It was all a mystery so I just said bring me a slinger scrambled, and she said ok.

The Jefferson Ave Bistro Slinger.

So, here we are.  This is what we came for.  Here’s what we’ve got.  It’s a sausage slinger.  It’s made with hash browns, chili, scrambled eggs and pre-cut pieces of sausage.  It’s topped with red onions, two kinds of cheese, and my favorite, jalapenos.

As I was looking this one, I was pretty happy about what I’d been handed.  I do prefer my slingers to be hamburger slingers, but they come both ways and that’s just part of the deal.  I was very surprised to see two kinds of cheese here.  The white cheese reminded me a bit of Pat’s Irish Slinger.  That was also the best sausage slinger I’ve had to this point.  The cheese was perfectly melted and just great.

Up close and personal.

Normally, I’m not a big fan of red onions in general.  I prefer white, but with the generous portion of them, and their being raw, I was very happy with them.

The sausage patties were cut in half, which I thought was a very nice touch and very flavorful.  They didn’t taste like the cheap sausage patties of Billies or City Diner. I’m not really much of a fan of pork in general, but these patties were very enjoyable.

The chili was very good, but poured a bit too lightly.  I find that on sausage slingers the chili becomes even more important to me, as stated, I’m just not that big of a fan of sausage, so I need the chili to take over some what.  I would liked to have seen more of it.

The hash browns were good, but there were just too few of them.  I need a big base of hash browns at the bottom to really fill this thing out right.  Enough so that I’m getting hash browns in every bite of the slinger.

The front of the Bistro.

I was very thrilled to have come across some jalapenos in there.  I’ve always loved jalapenos and they just give a nice little kick to a slinger.

All in all, this is a very good slinger.  Just a few little bits here and there that could be improved.

What we got a bit of a giggle about is their use of the word bistro.  To us, they seem to just be a bar, but a good one.  Just a word to the wise, they only serve breakfast in the mornings.  They’re also priced very reasonably.  So definitely check them out.

Please keep in touch with The 13 Blog’s links: email, twitterfacebook, formspring, Saint Louis City Edition

Comments
  1. Brad says:

    You have to try Eat Rite. The best chili and most atmosphere, and I heard it will be closing soon. Just South of Busch Stadium on Broadway.

Leave a Reply

