Part 22 Of The Continuing Series, St. Louis’s Perfect Slinger: Uncle Bill’s Pancakes

Posted: June 29, 2010 in slinger, STL: North Hampton
Tags: , , , , ,

The veritable institution.

Well, well, well.  Here we are again.  Once again, this is an establishment that I have been to in the past, and like last time, it’s been a very long time.  Once when I lived in the county I ate at this place, because the location in South County (now closed) wasn’t open late one night, so we headed to the Kingshighway location.

I wasn’t too impressed to be honest.  However, this was pre-slinger quest, this was pre-St. Louis City return, and pre a whole hell of a lot of other things.  I’d also heard tale that at Uncle Bills, they didn’t use hash browns, but breakfast potatoes, so that kept me from finally venturing out this way.  At last however, we made it out there.  I think from now on, I’m not going to see what ingredients they use before I go.  If it says slinger, I’m going to eat it eventually, because I think my preconceived notions are tainting things.

Need some smokes?

Now, what I like about Uncle Bill’s Pancakes is that it really feels like you’re stepping back in time when you head into this place.  It really feels like 1963 in there.  At least I assume, I mean, I was born in 1975.

I guess I should say, it looks like Forrest Gump’s childhood and Oliver Stone’s JFK in there.  There aren’t many restaurants in this day and age that still have cigarette machines for the public are there?  I mean most St. Louis bars still do and I understand that, but hey.

I’ll never be one of those annoying ex-smokers and I won’t judge, but I still get a giggle out of seeing the machines.  I can still remember when I had to cross Lafayette to go get my mother her smokes when they were seventy five cents a pack at the machine. Let me say, we sat in the non-smoking section, and really it didn’t seem smokey to me, but I also didn’t ask my companions who have better senses of smell for that than I do.

Why redecorate?

Now, they really haven’t changed the look of this place since, well ever I think.  There’s also a private room for parties and such.  I think a sling up could be had there one day.

We sat down, and I began taking in the surroundings.  We were right next to the coffee pot.  That would’ve been a lot more helpful to me if I’d gotten coffee I think.  Nah, probably not.  Being as it was about 9am on Saturday, there were plenty of people inside getting a nice breakfast.  I perused the menu as a matter of course.  I couldn’t find their slinger, but upon closer inspection, like Chris’s Pancake House, they don’t call it a slinger.  Here it’s called the “sling shot.”

Paper menus even.

Honestly, I’m not completely down with places changing the name of the slinger.  Well, I think I’m more agreeable to that than people throwing things together and calling them slingers at least, but that’s not really the point I suppose.

After finding it on the menu, I took a look to see what was in it:  two eggs, hash browns (I had totally wrong info, score!), two slices of American cheese, chili, and a “juicy” burger patty.  Well, I have to admit, I was a bit skeptical about the juicy part.  I’ve had a lot of slingers now, and I can’t think of a single place that had a juicy burger.  Very tasty yes, but not juicy.  So, there’s no onions, which is kind of annoying.  They’re not using jalapenos, but I didn’t expect them to, and it’s slices of American cheese and not shredded cheddar or any other kind of good cheese.

So let’s get a look at this thing.

No onions.

Now, I will not pretend that the lack of onions didn’t bother me.  I’ve gotten to the point now, that I really just love those.  I think that flavor really adds to the slinger, but let’s not talk about what’s not there, but what is there.

The Uncle Bill’s Slinger comes in the size of “Man vs. Food.”  I don’t know that many people finish this.  The chili was really good.  It was about the perfect consistency.  It was a bit runny, and not like stew.

Juicy or no?

Let’s talk about that burger patty.  They made a claim of a juicy burger, and as you can see, there’s a lot of goodness dripping out of it!  It was a very good burger patty, and plenty large, perhaps a bit too large.  As you can see, there’s already cheese melting onto the patty.

When using American cheese, it’s best to place it underneath the patties, so that way, by the time the slinger hits the table, you’ve got melted cheese already getting all gooey in there.  So, they did that perfectly right.  Now, let’s get to the hash browns.

The back room.

Here is where I found Uncle Bill’s other failing on their slinger.  The hash browns were soft and a bit bland.  Oh shoot!  Aside from the onions, they were doing really, really well on this slinger, but the hash browns were a failure.

I have to say that I don’t think many people would be too disappointed in this offering, and I’d wager a goodly  number of people have indulged in this veritable institution’s offering in my journey to find the perfect slinger.  I’d be willing to bet you could ask them for onions, but being old school, they’ll most likely charge you for them, but I think that would be a small price to pay.

As always, please keep in touch with the 13 Blog at our various links: email,twitterfacebook, Saint Louis City Edition!

Comments
  1. […] I convinced my wife to drop me off at the Amsterdam after we had breakfast.  I met my buddy Irish Steve there for a couple pints.  Now, I have to admit that a couple pints […]

  2. Hypocrite says:

    Why do you keep bringing up illegals at the workplace when you are the one that is paying them? Your whole blog exists because of illegals and yet you have the nerve to talk shit to others.

    • battra13 says:

      Umm…Sir, I have no idea what you mean. There’s nothing about illegals in the workplace on my blog anywhere. Can you clarify?

  3. Coarty says:

    I do not generally reply to posts but I’ sure will in this case. Truly a big thumbs up for this one!

Leave a Reply

