Part 21 of the Continuing Series, St. Louis’s Perfect Slinger: The Tin Can Tavern & Grille

Posted: June 14, 2010 in slinger, STL: Tower Grove South
Tags: , , , ,

Here we are.

Now, I know what you’re thinking.  I mean, a quick perusal of the Tin Can’s menu will show that they don’t even serve breakfast, much less a slinger.  On top of that, they don’t even open up before lunch time, so what am I doing here??

Well, for the duration of the World Cup, the Tin Can is opening up at 6:30am daily and serving a pretty full breakfast menu, including the World Cup Slinger.  I love the Tin Can and it made me glad I could get out there and check their slinger.

You know it.

We all know what the Tin Can is known for, beers in cans.  They do have a draft and bottle line up, but I don’t bother with that.

So, with our breakfast we had a couple beers.  Hey why not?  It was the weekend after all, and Argentina and Nigeria were playing on television.  You’re supposed to have a couple pints whilst watching soccer right?

Don’t judge me.

I was actually quite surprised to see a pretty expansive breakfast menu from the Tin Can.  Of course, they do have a pretty expansive menu to begin with, so I suppose it only makes sense.  My companion at the Pele Breakfast Wrap.

Ambiance.

Now, what I really liked about the slinger was that it came with a one or two patty option. What I didn’t know is what kind of patties they were talking about. It just said patties. I did choose the one patty option though.

It was also topped with chili, an over easy egg, jalapenos and onions.  Now, what really caught my eye was the lack of hash browns.  Now, my regular readers will know this usually really catches my ire, but this time it wasn’t such an insult.

WHAAAT?

Tater Tots!  Really?  Now this is a first.  Normally, I’d be getting all up in arms about the lack of hash browns right at this moment, but I’m not.  Really, think about fast food hashbrowns, how different are they from tater tots?  They’re just longer and wider versions.

The close up.

Now, another issue I had with these was the Texas toast underneath the slinger.  Unlike the last time I dealt with this, I just pulled the toast out from underneath and set it to the side.

I’m not going to eat toast, not now, not ever.  That’s just how I am.  Actually once I took that off, I could really get a look at the slinger, and it was a nice surprise that the one patty version wasn’t a Man vs Food reject in terms of size, but a very good breakfast sized meal.  Also, this is when I found out what kind of patty we were talking about….

BURGER PATTY!!!

All right! Now we are talking.  There’s just something about the burger part that just makes it better.

Now, my criticisms, I didn’t like the over easy egg.  There were no options on the egg, but I really prefer the scrambled.  The chili tasted too much like spaghetti sauce, and there surely weren’t enough jalapenos on this sucker to suit me.  I was also given far more tater tots than I required for my meal.  I have been wondering now, if the two patty version is just another burger patty or double the amount of food…if it’s double…don’t get it!!

Tots for days....

For a place that doesn’t even serve breakfast, I really can’t make any serious complaints about the World Cup Slinger.  What I can say it that’s it’s totally awesome that another bar is gearing up for the madness of the World Cup and doing their best to make another location available for soccer fans in St. Louis.

Keep on rockin’ Tin Can Tavern!

Also, please check out my review of the Tin Can Tavern as a Soccer Pub here.

As always, keep in touch with the 13 Blog at our various links: email, twitterfacebook, Saint Louis City Edition!

Comments
  1. Jamie says:

    Neat, I work close to the other tin can in downtown (I assume you went to the other one) I might have to swing for breakfast there and try out the breakfast menu. I’ll probably avoid the slinger after this review, not quite what I’m looking for. especially with the chili being what it was, i dont mind the texas toast though. And fun fact I like hash browns about the same as tater tots (ie i don’t like them normally) so that just re-enforces what you are saying that they are basically the same thing. If I did have them I’d probably mash em in to the slinger

    • battra13 says:

      Well, it’s all personal taste. Where else can you get a $1.75 beer with your slinger? :)..Well besides River Side Cafe I suppose…Yeah, I did go to the Tower Grove South location. I’ve been to the Downtown location once or twice….I just prefer the one close to home.

  2. […] The Tin Can Tavern & Grille’s World Cup Slinger compromised with tater tots. […]

Leave a Reply

