Part 17 of the Continuing Series, St. Louis’s Perfect Slinger: Hammerstone’s

Posted: April 29, 2010 in slinger, STL: Soulard
Tags: , ,

Here's the place!

Welcome back!  It’s time for another trip into another place for another slinger.  This entry is a special one for me.

There were two things about this run that I’d never had the pleasure of before, the first was O’Fallon Brewery’s Hemp Hop Amber Rye Amber Ale and the other was my best friend’s new fiance.  I liked one a whole lot better than the other, but we’ll get to that in a bit.  So, needless to say I was pretty excited.  Since we were going to be spending the whole day together, I thought the best way to start the day was to introduce her to the St. Louis favorite, the slinger, and Chris wanted to try the beer…Hammerstone’s is one of the rare places that has both of these things.

Hemp Hop Ya Don't Stop...

So, we sat down and ordered our beers you see.  Chris and I are big fans of The O’Fallon Brewing Company, and any time they come out with a new regular beer, I’m very interested.  However, I have to say that we were both, very underwhelmed on this particular brew.

Oh well, what can you do?  Their Gold, 5 Day IPA, and Wheach beers are all phenomenal, so we gave this one the benefit of the doubt as well.

After ordering up our beers, we then set to the task of breakfast.  I knew this place had a slinger and that’s what I was getting. My thinking is if I’m meeting someone, just get all the crazy out on day one.  I mean, if I’m going have a deal breaker, let’s just break the deal right away before it could be messy ya know?  So, I thought, oh, slinger, early morning beer, hell let’s blog this bitch on up!  I’d have to imagine that I did bring a little crazy that day…oh well…and we’re not even going to get into what happened at the zoo…  (She did lend me her camera though.)

Condiments for your perusal.

Now I do have to say, Hammerstone’s really has a nice little place there.  The decor was quite interesting to say the least.  They apparently are all about the Annual Soulard Mardi Gras, and being as they’re located in Soulard, I’m totally down with that.  Unlike The Hwy 61 Roadhouse that’s in Webster Groves that has Soulard signs all over it…You’re in the County, deal with it. Oh well.  So that’s a big part of their motif, and I’d have to assume t hey’ve got a lot going on in regards to the Mardi Gras, but I have no idea.  Or they at least want me to think they do, in which case, they’ve succeeded admirably.

Mardi Gras Motif

Here’s a nice selection of their signs.   I will say that this was just a sampling of them.  Oh, I totally forgot to mention, Jenn.  I had heard quite a lot about this woman over the time Chris had been dating her.  I have to say that the stories I heard did certainly warm my heart, and even made my wife make her awww face.  All one ever  wants for their friends is to be stupid happy, so there we are.

So, like Pat’s Bar & Grill, this place is a bar that also sells food.  A lot of restaurants have bars in them, but I don’t like those, because I’d never go there to drink, that’s kind of how I look at things.  Would I drink in this bar and not eat food?  If the answer is yes, they’re a bar, if no, they’re a restaurant.  I don’t personally think of things as a bar and grill or some such stuff.

Bar!

Even for a regular bar, they were very, very well stocked.  Also, regardless of the sum of it’s parts, I have to declare this place NOT a dive bar.

However, is anybody reading this post to find out what the deuce I think about this place as a bar?

I seriously doubt it. So let’s turn to what makes the 13 Blog tick……slingers.

So, here’s a look at the Hammerstone’s slinger:

The slinger.

OK. Right now, I know there’s a part of you that wants to just dig into this thing and go right?  Well, let’s talk about it first.

I’m going to give the bad, and then gallop right on into the good which far outweighs the bad.

The meat ‘patties’ in this slinger are well…some sort of sausage.  They weren’t the discs, or crumbles but it was like it was salami.  I know this sounds strange, but it was totally like that.  It was also VERY tough.  I could barely cut the stuff, so I just kind of put it to the side and ate the rest of it.

Nice place.

So, now on the great bits.  As obviously seen in the photo: jalapenos.  These are only on about 15% of all the slingers in the City.  I cannot stress this enough, put jalapenos on your slingers!

The chili was really good.  It was the right consistency and there was the right amount of it.  What a lot of places don’t realize is that the chili is what makes it what it is. So really, don’t be stingy.  On top of that, normally the lack of good meat pattties would be really grating on me by now, but the chili was just jam packed full of meat.  I had kind of half forgotten that I wasn’t eating a burger slinger!  Raw onions on top and cheddar cheese underneath.

So, I can heartily recommend the Hammerstone’s Slinger, but just tell them to dispense with the “sausage.”

Next Up: The first Sling Up at Riverside Cafe.

Comments
  1. Karin says:

    That slinger actually does look good, which is ipretty mpressive since slingers inherently look like a bad case of the runs. A shame about the weird meat patties but if the chili had meat in it anyway, it probably would have been an overload.

    • battra13 says:

      Well, if you’re chili’s that meaty, the sausage seems like a good idea. At least to me, but I really didn’t miss the burger because there was so much meat there.

      I can wholeheartedly recommend this one, it’s just not the best out there.

  2. […] some reject thinger right.  I also really didn’t think there was enough chili on here.  The Hammerstones slinger essentially didn’t have any meat patties, but the chili was so meaty and doled out so […]

  3. […] make the claim of home made, beefy chili. Well, considering Hammerstone’s chili, I was skeptical. What blew me away where the chunks of stew beef in the chili.  This really took […]

  4. […] I have learned that chili is really the make or break ingredient on slingers/flingers/etc. Hammerstones, Soulard Coffee Garden, etc have made good slingers without the normal ingredients because of their […]

Leave a Reply

