Part 14 of the Continuing Series, St. Louis’s Perfect Slinger: The Time Out Bar & Grill

Posted: March 25, 2010 in slinger, STL: Bevo
Tags: , ,

So, it’s that time again!  It’s time for another search for the perfect slinger. This time the 13 Blog headed out into the night for a slinger.  Yup, that’s right we had to go out at night.

The Time Out Bar & Grill only serves breakfast from 10pm to 3am.  So, honestly, this made it a bit difficult to try their “Southside Slinger,” but this really got me interested.  A slinger only available during late night? Again, very, very intrigued at this prospect.  So, we made a plan to get out there and see what a slinger’s like at night.  Now, here’s where I talk about how this entry, actually was a two visit entry.  We’ll call it the first of it’s kind.  So let’s get down to it shall we?

After a Fish Fryday and a going away party, we headed down to the Time Out Bar & Grill. I’d already done my research: When is breakfast served? Late night. Do they have a slinger? Yes. Where is the bar? On Gravois. What neighborhood? The Bevo Neighborhood.

I was totally ready to do this and get a slinger. So we park, and I start taking some pictures of the place. This wasn’t the first time we’d been in and unfortunately, the pictures don’t do this place justice at all. Since it’s a full on bar with food, it’s VERY dark, and you really can’t see that this place, though it looks like a dive bar, is a hipped out Euro Club…yeah I know.

After I take a picture of the leather couches, the bar, all the stuff to give you an idea of what this place is like…all to the tunes that the DJ (yes DJ) was playing in the corner. A burly, bald fellow with a menacing goatee comes up to me… “What’s with all the pictures?” Well sir, I’m here to review the slinger. He then laughs and tells me that tonight I’m really not going to like it.

Ok, I’m not too ashamed to admit that I’m worried about where this is going.

He then explains to me that a part of the kitchen is broken and they can only cook nachos and pretzels and such.  So…as I turn to get my wife and leave, she hands me a troll doll.  I have no idea what she’s talking about.  She tells me something about how I get a free drink.  Well, I’m always up for free booze, and since it wasn’t my dime, I got a Maker’s Mark on the rocks.  I felt really stupid when I saw the Glenlivet on the shelf.  Apparently, when the DJ is spinning she hides a poker chip and a troll doll in the place, and finding either trinket gets you a free drink.  There was a whole table of guys who’d been looking for these things all night with no success.

Oh well.  So, I drink my drink and we head on our merry little way, I won’t say that I wasn’t disappointed and that I didn’t try to convince her to go to City Diner for a slinger.  She wasn’t having that.  So, defeated, we went home.

Fast forward another week.  Back to the Time Out Bar & Grill, but this time I’m a bit drunk.  I’d had a few drinks in a few bars….and I didn’t have my camera, just the BlackBerry.  I’d say there’s a noticeable difference, but all the pictures in this place kind of suck, and for that I’m sorry.  I’m going to stick with slinger runs during the day, if for nothing else, good photos.

So, as we walk in, we’re greeted again by the same somewhat menacing looking bouncer.  I look at him and say, please tell me I can get a slinger tonight.  He just smiled and told me yes.

So, we find a table in the back, right by the speakers and the DJ, that’s a bit unfortunate.  I think they’re going for a dance club kind of vibe.  If it were to really catch on, I think they’d be the only one in that area of the city.  One thing I noticed was that the crowd was very diverse.  I’m always warmed to see that.  There was also a goodly sized crowd there that evening.  It wasn’t packed to the gills by any stretch, but the bartenders had plenty to do this night, that’s for sure.  I’m always happy to see a place full of paying customers.

This place really has a unique vibe.  This was the third time we’d been in.  The first was after on my birthday.  We were heading home from River City Pub when the Blues game went into OT and I decided we’d stop right here to watch it.

That was when we found out that the inside here, surely doesn’t match the outside.  It was just total culture shock walking in here and seeing this place.

Do not judge this book by it’s cover.

You couldn’t be more wrong indeed.

So, I ordered up my slinger and a couple waters.  I didn’t need any more alcohol or caffeine.  I probably should’ve just gone home and not eaten a slinger, but I was wanting one.   Notice I didn’t say hungry.

When I get back, I was informed that I should’ve gotten some chicken fingers for my wife as well.  So I go back and get some chicken fingers too.

As I was reading the part about the slinger, I noticed that meat patties were not mentioned at all.  This got me to wondering, what was on this?  It said everything else, just not a sausage or a hamburger…so I’d just have to wait and see!

And see I did…….

So here we are!

What really surprised me was that this slinger came with crumbled sausage over top of it.  This is not something I had ever come across in my travels.  I have to say that I really liked that.  I mean, I always mash them up anyway.  So, just give it to me crumbled, and I’m quite happy indeed.

There’s one glaring omission though:  no cheese.  Slingers need cheese to be cheesy.  Really who doesn’t like cheese on their eggs and hashbrowns?

Now, here’s something I loved.  A cup of thickly cut, raw onions on the side.  Long time readers will know that this is how I love my onions on a slinger.   This is also the first time I’ve ever gotten my onions on the side in a cup.

Great addition there.  This way, you get as many or as few onions as you’d like on it.  I dumped the whole cup of the fresh onions all over it and began mashing it up and smothering it in Tabasco sauce.

The chili was very flavorful, and dominated the whole slinger’s taste.  This is pretty normal and precisely why you need very good chili in a slinger.

If you look at the picture you can see that for the first time, there was as much chili as anything else.  This was good, thick, and rich chili.  Not like some of the other places where you get very runny chili.

The hashbrowns needed about thirty more seconds on the grill.  They weren’t quite as crispy as they should have been.

Here’s where the story gets a little interesting.  As I was trying to get a photo of the onions an older Eastern European gentleman came up and handed me a flashlight, and with it, I was able to get a good photo of the onions.  He then introduced himself to me as the owner and took me on a guided tour of the place.  (He also showed me the part of the kitchen that they replaced last week!)

There’s a patio with a full bar outside for when the weather gets warm and it was just really nice to meet the man.  All in all this slinger’s not perfect, but ask for cheese on it, and I can’t see how anybody would be disappointed!  Just come hungry.  I could only finish half of this monster.

Coming Soon: The Last Fish Fryday of 2010, then the Hammerstone’s Slinger.

The 13 Blog’s links: email, twitterfacebook, formspring, St. Louis City Edition

Comments
  1. 13 says:

    Oh I know. I tried to get one last month, and ended up with http://battra13.blogspot.com/2010/02/us-slinger-burger.htmlOh my email is the13blog@gmail.com :)Thanks!!

  2. […] in this slinger are well…some sort of sausage.  They weren’t the discs, or crumbles but it was like it was salami.  I know this sounds strange, but it was totally like that.  It was […]

Leave a Reply

