Part 10 Of The Continuing Series, St. Louis’s Perfect Slinger: The Majestic Restaurant and Bar

Posted: January 11, 2010 in slinger, STL: Central West End
Tags: , ,

All I can say right now is this is how I feel: A horse, a horse! My kingdom for a horse! If you’re a faithful reader of this fanciful adventure through St. Louis searching for slingers, you know that I’ve hit a run of bad luck.

This week it continued.  The reason why the slinger runs were so close together is because I haven’t had a good one in a couple trips and I really, really want to eat a tasty slinger.  So, my father in law and I set up the time and date as I’m getting off of a plane from Mexico, the wife thought I

was totally nuts for going again so quickly, but I knew we’d be out at

River City this weekend drinking, and I also didn’t know about the drinks my stepdad was going to buy me on Saturday…while he was getting make up put on him by my mother…I’m not going to post that photo…but I really want to….I’m off track.

Point is, we were heading to Chili Macs downtown right?  Bob and I miscommunicated and he arrived at Chili Macs while I was waiting for him to show up at our house…but he called me and let me know that the place is closed on the weekends.  It’s only open Monday thru Friday 6am to 2pm. Well, I don’t think I’ll be able to make it out there until my vacation time flips back over….so…I’m disappointed, but what else can we do?

We then chose our plan B, either the new place in Lafayette Square, or the Majestic Restaurant and Bar in the Central West End. I decided that the Majestic was the place to go, as I’d been told their slinger was top notch. Well, it’s a little Greek Cafe on Euclid near a whole bunch of other things.  We go in, and I look at the menu and I’m noticing that the slinger’s not there.  Well, I’ve had this problem before and I just ask them to make it and they do..etc.  So, no worries.

Our waiter comes up and asks what we’d like to drink, I get my Dr. Pepper and Bob his water and we’re ready to order.  He comes back and I ask him if I can get a slinger.

He says, sure, absolutely.

What is that?

So, I explained to him what it was about a hundred times, and that it used to be on the menu.  After awhile, we get this figured out and he says he’ll go ask the chefs, and they tell him it’s no longer on the menu and they’ll make it, but we’ll have to purchase each individual piece of the thing.

Awesome.  I was ready to get up and leave, because it’s not a menu item so I felt weird about writing this entry, and I still do honestly, but maybe if enough people come back asking for it, they’ll bring it back?  I dunno.  Bob says that’s fine.  So we stay.  Well, after I’d explained it to him again, we begin waiting and watching some football on the telly, more me than him.  Shooting the breeze, talking about our tripe etc.  Well, I notice this stuff on the table:

This is kind of fancy  hot sauce.  To this day, I’m not really sure why Cholula is so revered, it’s just Tabasco with different peppers, but it’s more expensive etc.  So we realized this wasn’t exactly our normal kind of place you know?

So, I tried to get some photos of the place, but since it was so dark in there, and so bright in the windows, I really couldn’t get any good pictures to speak of, which really bugged me.

Let me reiterate, they no longer sell slingers as a regular menu item, so I did have to explain to my waiter several times what it was.  He’d never heard of it so, we finally got it all settled and we were ready and waiting.

I had a touch of a hangover and was in need of a good slinger.  Did I get one?

You tell me.

This is my slinger. As you can see, no hashbrowns. Those are some sort of fried, scalloped potatoes. I asked him if those were the hashbrowns, and our waiter explained, after the meal came, that they didn’t have hashbrowns there. Of course I told him hashbrowns, I don’t know how many times.

So I was annoyed.

The chili was really good.  The sausage patties were pretty bad.  The potatoes were actually good even though I was really wanting hashbrowns.  I mean, I had been in Mexico and I wanted a proper St. Louis Breakfast when I got back.  I didn’t quite get it.

I did  have cheese and onions to spare, but since they no longer sold it, it was no longer great.

Please leave a comment, send an email, or friend us on facebook!

Leave a Reply

