Part 5 of the Continuing Series: St. Louis’s Perfect Slinger, Billie’s Fine Foods

Posted: September 21, 2009 in diner, slinger, STL: Soulard
Tags: , , ,

IMG00186.jpg

With my future father in law, though not so future now, in tow, I headed out on our next diner adventure. Being as the fiancee’s bridal shower was today, and was being held at his house, he decided it would be a great day for us to head out to a diner. He chose Billie’s Fine Foods. He’d been there before and it seemed like a very good idea. I really need to learn to stop letting him pick where we eat.

IMG00187.jpg

We took a seat at the bar, and looked over the menu. I was just checking to make sure they had what I was looking for, a slinger. Which they did. I wanted to sit at the bar so I could watch the Rams fail…which they did. As it was my first trip inside, I was surveying my surroundings and there was a pretty diverse collection of patrons in the place. It did seem as though there were some pretty upscale people there.

image

They seemed to be doing a very brisk business today, as though Church had just let out.

As is my current custom, I do not request anything special on the slinger. I wanted as they served it. The only choice I made was my eggs scrambled, as is my wont.

Their slinger was as follows: 2 sausage patties, potatoes, chili, and eggs served on Texas Toast. I had to look at the description twice before I saw that they even had potatoes on it. I was confused as to the fact that they weren’t hashbrowns though. Every slinger has hashbrowns…?

IMG00192.jpg

See? No hashbrowns. What I didn’t know was that they meant boiled potatoes. I was no pleased in the least by this.

Here’s the article itself:
image

As you can clearly see, there are some pretty serious things wrong with this.

1) Where are the hashbrowns??
2) Where is my cheese?
3) No onions…seriously?
4) Texas Toast? TEXAS?!
5) Why are the eggs on top?

The potatoes were pretty awful, and the sausage was the size of silver dollars. The eggs being on top and not smothered in the chili created some issues to me. Also, I don’t eat toast. Ever. So, the whole thing being on top of toast was well, pretty annoying. I had to be careful not to ingest any of it.

I didn’t finish it, not because I was full, but because it tasted pretty bad.

Bottom line: Don’t go to Billie’s for a slinger.

Comments
  1. PT says:

    Meatloaf Omelet at Billie's. That is the way to go

  2. […] with the fundamentals of the slinger here.   At least these were breakfast potatoes and not boiled potatoes.  I could at least eat this.  Breakfast potatoes are a whole different animal to me than […]

  3. Pam says:

    I don’t care for hash brown. I love, yes love, Billie’s fried potatoes.

    • battra13 says:

      Pam, you might want to try: Three Monkeys, The U, and there are a couple others that I can’t remember right now. They all do fried breakfast potatoes with their slingers…me…I want the hashbrowns. 🙂

  4. […] one, with its wrong potatoes, and sausage patties.  Not my favorite, but it’s surely not the worst slinger I’ve ever had.  I’d suggest getting a bloody mary to go with this slinger if ya get it.  Why not?  Might […]

  5. […] another issue I had with these was the Texas toast underneath the slinger.  Unlike the last time I dealt with this, I just pulled the toast out from underneath and set it to the […]

  6. […] ways I’ve found the potatoes so far.  The worst by far, which was just so wrong, was at Billie’s Diner in Soulard.  If you clicked the Soulard link, you’ll see that I’ve had a few slingers […]

  7. […] a very nice touch and very flavorful.  They didn’t taste like the cheap sausage patties of Billies or City Diner. I’m not really much of a fan of pork in general, but these patties were very […]

Leave a Reply

