My Future Father In Law’s Birthday BBQ

Posted: August 3, 2009 in Uncategorized

Well, for his birthday, I told Bob that I’d grill him a nice meal. With the wedding, the economy, and all that stuff, things are tighter than they once were. So, that’s what I did.

Before I could get started though, I had to get things ready. First, did a beer menu check. Bob and I love beer. So I had to give him a good choice, of course he only drank Yuengling..even though I’m giving him a half case soon..ahahaha

Now, here’s the funny thing. One of these beers is available in St. Louis, and two are not. It’s not the one brewed in St. Louis….

Now on to the meat. I was cooking up turkey brats and burgers. I was getting the turkey brats for my lady, who I had it in my head, that she would eat those. So, I skipped a bunch of brats I’d have rather eaten…because I was sure she’d eat the turkey brats…nope…Oh well.


I went down to Soulard Farmer’s Market that day to pick up some corn on the cobb to grill up. You can clearly see four ears in this snap, but only three on the grill later. We had a single casualty. I should have paid closer attention I am guessing.

Next up, was the sauce. Well at least preparing for the sauce. I go through a great many different combinations and ingredients in my sauces. There are some normal suspects though. Beer, of course (Schlitz this time), worcestshire sauce, teriyaki sauce, soy sauce,garlic,etc.

I am the only person I know who puts hard liquor in their BBQ sauce. I always try to get some bourbon in there, and Southern Comfort if I have it. Remember, the alcohol does cook out.

Was going to try some lemon pepper this time…but it just wouldn’t go. So, I didn’t use it.

Teriyaki and Soy sauces. Give a nice tang along with a unique flavor.


This was the first time I’d ever tried using chopped garlic instead of garlic powder. Being as it’s just one of a dozen things in there, I don’t know if that one thing made a difference, but it was REALLY good.


Sweet Baby Ray’s Chipotle was my base this time.


Had to go get the grill out of the basement. I really should’ve taken a picture so you could see what kind of maze it is getting that grill out of the basement of our Victorian house. They must have grilled much in the late 1800’s!


Putting it where I’m going to be cooking in the backyard.


Setting up the charcoal.


FIRE!


Run back upstairs to chop up the garlic and put the finishing touches on the sauce.


Getting the meat ready upstairs, and the chopped onions.


Setting up shop outside while I’m grilling.






The basically finished product. I’d been drinking by the time we sat down to eat outside, so I didn’t get a picture of the finished product on a table. Barbecue = booze. We all know this.

It came out really well. I also put about a half stick of butter in the sauce in order to make it stickier. This really helped.

Leave a Reply

